If you have moved to Brookfield from another town, whatever town you live in on October 1, 2023 is the town where you should pay taxes. For example, if you moved from Danbury to Brookfield after October 1, 2023, then you should pay the taxes in Danbury for this year. If you moved to Brookfield on or before October 1, 2023 then you should pay the taxes in Brookfield for this year. Please provide us with proof of when you began owning or renting in Brookfield, along with a copy of your vehicle registration. Please refer to CT State Statute 12-71 f (2). Please contact DMV and be sure to *change your town code* along with your address if you have not done so already.

If your vehicle is registered in a different town other than Brookfield and you have more than one address in Connecticut, State Statute 12-71 F(2) states that whatever town where the vehicle resides is the town you should pay taxes in. For example, if you own a house in Danbury and in Brookfield and your vehicle is in Brookfield, then you need to pay Brookfield taxes.

If your car is registered in a different state and you live in Brookfield, Connecticut year-round, DMV states: "once you've established residency in CT, you have 60 days to transfer your vehicle registration to this state". Please register your car with the DMV and change your address *along with the town code* to "018" (Brookfield) as soon as possible. If you moved to Brookfield, CT on or before October 1, 2022, please provide our office with proof of when you began owning or renting in Brookfield, along with a copy of your registration. If you do not register your vehicle within **90** days, you must file a declaration of personal property.

If your vehicle is registered in a different state and your vehicle is in Brookfield, Connecticut for only part of the year, state statute 12-71 F(3) reads: "If you are here for 90 days of the year (does not have to be consecutive), you must file a declaration of personal property" with the Assessor's office. Please call or visit our office to provide information along with a copy of your vehicle's registration so that we can send you a personal property declaration.

If you are the owner of a property and are leasing out the home, condo or apartment, please provide us with a copy of the lease, address, and the plate numbers of all tenant vehicles so we can send them the appropriate information.

Again, if you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Assessor's Department at 203-775-7302. Thank you.
